Can I use Veracrypt to encrypt a folder in my Dropbox folder?

Hi.

I am using Ubuntu 22.04. I have Dropbox installed and a folder which syncs whatever is in it to Dropbox. If I create a folder on my computer within the Dropbox folder and encrypt the folder using Veracrypt (I think you can do that with the program), would that work?

My idea is to use it to store a LibreOffice document.

I’ve been looking at free cloud options that include word processing, like Skiff, but I worry they could just delete whatever I have at any time.

Thank you for your help, I am new to all of this.

If you’re using a cloud storage, i.e. storing files and other data on someone else’s computer, then you can use a few different tools to encrypt your files. You can take a look at either VeraCrypt or Cryptomator as Cyrus pointed out. There are a few key differences between VC and CM that are worth pointing out.

1. VeraCrypt volumes have a set amount of space, which you can define upon creation of a VeraCrypt volume, for example 3 GB.
  2. VeraCrypt let’s you choose the algorithm(s).
  3. VeraCrypt supports keyfiles and hardware keys, such as Yubikey or Onlykey.
  4. Cryptomator has flexible storage. Instead of defining the size of a volume upfront, it’ll adjust the volume size depending on the contents, which is much more convenient.
  5. VeraCrypt allows you to create a hidden volume. In the rare event of extortion, you can give out the password to the visible volume instead of the hidden one.

In the end it doesn’t matter which one you use, but I do recommend encrypting any files before uploading them to a cloud storage provider. Cloud storage providers may retain your files even after deletion for an unspecified time, you never really know whether your data is gone, and they can also access your data.