Add subscription termination info to Email Aliasing

Hi there,

fyi i noticed an important difference between SimpleLogin and Addy which i think would be good to emphasize in the guide;

Addy.io:

What happens if I have a subscription but then cancel it?
[…]
Any custom domains will be deactivated
Any additional usernames will be deactivated
If you have any more than 1 recipient they will be deleted
Paid account settings will be reverted to default values
Any aliases using paid plan only domains will be deactivated
If you have any more than 10 aliases using a shared domain e.g. anonaddy.me they will be deactivated
If your account username has catch-all disabled then it will be enabled

Source

SimpleLogin:

When your subscription ends, all aliases you created continue working normally, both on receiving and sending emails. Concretely:

• All aliases/domains/directories/mailboxes you have created are kept and continue working normally.
  • You cannot create new aliases if you exceed the free plan limit, i.e. have more than 10 aliases.
  • As features like catch-all or directory allow you to create aliases on-the-fly, those aliases cannot be automatically created if you have more than 10 aliases.
  • You cannot add new domain, directory or mailbox.

For example, if you have 100 aliases by the time your subscription ends, these 100 aliases will continue receiving and sending emails normally. You cannot however create new aliases.

source

So that’s quite a major difference, since you will loose access to all your e-mail addresses (and possibly connected accounts) when canceling your subscription with addy.io.

On the other hand, SimpleLogin will keep working fine and still forward all your e-mails.

Hope that helps.

5 Likes

Personally, I’d rather hide this information.
Allowing the end user to keep its alias is quite nice, but it is unsustainable from a business perspective.