University forces me to use google email

I’m still new to privacy, but I’ve been taking steps to increase my privacy and I now have a new framework laptop 16 running fedora KDE 40 which I plan to use both personally and for university. My university uses google emails under their edu domain and although google claims to not track educational accounts I would like to cut off their access to collecting other data about me as best as possible while still allowing me some measure of convenience and to be up to date on my assignments. I set up my personal email in thunderbird and I’m wondering if there is a privacy concern also logging into my university email through thunderbird (or any other app/client suggestions?). I also use an iPhone and I’m in the process of trying to use it as privately as possible (switching phones isn’t possible right now). I am currently logged into both my personal and university email in the native mail client. Would being logged into an .edu google account in the mail app on IOS or thunderbird on Fedora allow google to track me through the personal (non Gmail) email account I’m logged into or across other apps? Ideally I would only check my email through hardened Firefox but being logged in on mail clients and apps is very helpful for me as a student. I do not have a very high threat model, I am mainly trying to protect my privacy against companies. Thank you for any help.

To begin with, Google Workspace =/= Google Gmail, so the privacy considerations are completely different.

With regards to privacy concerns, your school knows: every IP address you log into your email from, user agent that accesses your email (i.e., they know what client you’re using), and every email that goes in and out of your student email only, any sites/apps that use Google SSO that you log into with your student email.