Should I switch from 1Password to Bitwarden?

hi guys,
I have been using 1Password for 2 years, it’s a good password manager but a pricy one. I have read some articles and Bitwarden seems a good cheaper alternative.

Things that are stopping me from shifting to bitwarden are:

• Can’t share passwords using links like 1Password does.
  • Read a few posts stating that the autofill feature is not working properly.
  • UI is not as intuitive as 1Password. But this is not a stopper.
  • Can’t save sign-in with identity providers (like sign-in with google, facebook, etc)

Should I compromise and switch to bitwarden or is there a better alternative or just pay and keep on using 1Password?

Also, I saw a few articles mentioning proton pass, is it a good alternative to consider?

Help Center | Bitwarden is a good resource.

1 Like

Thanks for replying.

1. I did see the bitwarden send but we need to manually copy and paste the password and send it. Also if I want to share bank account details kinda thing I need to manually add the text headings and then send them.
  2. Maybe what I conveyed is not clear, I am not looking for a SAML based implementation I just want to save that the login on a particular website is done using the Sign in With Google button and not a email/password combination.
    Sign in with Google, Apple, and Other Providers… and Save it in 1Password | 1Password

If you’re using a password manager, what reason would you have for using these 3rd party sign-in providers, which often are also not great for your privacy?

3 Likes

That’s a great question, before migrating to the use of password manager I had websites which I logged in using 3rd party sign-in providers and now I am a bit lazy to migrate those to password-based authentication. And also there are very few websites which don’t allow this migration also.

But this is not a major stopper for me the major things are the share passwords and the autofill glitches.