Recursive dns or DoH / DoT?

Trying to decipher if one is better for privacy then the other. It also seems like people are pretty mixed as to whether DoH or DoT actually provide much of a benefit at all.

I know you can technically run something like unbound with dnscrypt but doesnt that defeat the point of having a recursive dns?

maybe I am misunderstanding but if you are running a recursive server, wouldn’t you not want to use DoH or DoT?

Not trying to argue, I am just new to this so I want to clarify my understanding.

I had thought that with a recursive server, the big benefit was you are then directly contacting the responsive servers. If you use DoH / DoT you are then adding a middle man to the process taking away the big benefit of having a recursive server, no?

Then just to get back to the other part of my post…

My understanding was that since Cloudflare or whomever your provider would be using DoH / DoT still has to send information to the responsive servers in plaintext, the privacy gains from it are minimal.

I think i am starting to understand why its both now. Please correct me if I am wrong. I appreciate you taking the time to do some hand holding lol

DoH / DoT provide privacy from your ISP

and the recursive server can provide privacy from your DNS as the pihole unbound document puts it

no server can fully log the exact paths you’re going, as e.g. the Google DNS servers will only be asked if you want to visit a Google website, but not if you visit the website of your favorite newspaper, etc.

My follow up questions would be

is a setup using both such as unbound and dnscrypt (using this as an example as I see it a lot) provide both benefits?

My understanding is that You can either encrypt DNS or run a recursive resolver. The DNS root servers don’t do encryption.

Which leads me to my 2nd question…