Recommended usage/storage of bitcoin?

I understand that Bitcoin isn’t actually anonymous and that Monero is one of, if not the only, truly private cryptocurrency. But getting it can be kind of complicated. The guide currently addresses that if our threat model allows it, we could get Bitcoin/Litecoin to then trade for Monero. This is very much the case for a lot of us, but it doesn’t go any further on how we should handle the Bitcoin/Litecoin for that period of time. It’s also pretty tricky to find a reliable guide for this on the wider internet because of the nature of the community around cryptocurrencies.

I’m pretty new to this, and I get that it’s not as private as just getting Monero directly, but a guide to handle the intermediate crypto would be nice to have. I’ve heard of some wallets like Samourai and would like to know if it’s useful at all for this.

Yes, the guide also mentions you could just directly buy Monero from a KYC exchange, but since the guide also mentions this method, I think some sort of small guide on this topic should be included.

Let me break it down:

• Bitcoin is not anonymous
  • Store in a non-custodial wallet, ie one off platform on a device you own.
    • If you have a lot of Bitcoin look into a hardware wallet, ie Trezor.

As Bitcoin is not anonymous, you really must shift it into Monero, first. That means when you shift it out of Monero back to Bitcoin, you’ll need to either use a CEX (Centralized Exchange) or DEX (Decentralized Exchange) and that should be done over Tor. This is of course assuming the vendor doesn’t take Monero.

Honestly though I detest Bitcoin because it has high transaction fees and is slow when compared to something like Monero.