Private tablet for note-taking (iPad vs Pixel Tablet)

Hi there PrivacyGuides community. I’m a university student looking for a secure and private way to take notes digitally. The best options I could find are either an iPad or a Pixel Tablet running GrapheneOS (supports third party USI 2.0 styluses). Which would be the best option here? The iPad has Apple Notes built in so I don’t have to trust any third parties for the note taking app. But, the GrapheneOS Pixel Tablet is the more private option, albeit with meager private note-taking app options. I’d love to hear your takes on it.

Android tablets aren’t even close to the experience that you will have on an iPad. This is especially the case if you are using it for note taking / drawing. The Apple Pencil is really fantastic for taking notes and you don’t have to worry about charging it as it connects and charges magnetically on your iPad.

I would strongly suggest getting a 2nd generation Apple Pencil as the USB-C/1st gen one doesn’t have wireless charging which is quite annoying.

I’d say if you are using it only for school work and taking notes on school related tasks, there isn’t really much difference in choosing an iPad over a Pixel Tablet.

The Pixel tablet also isn’t really a great tablet in my opinion, it doesn’t have great performance especially when you can get the iPad Air with Apple Silicon for a similar price.

Another thing is how smoothly things work, generally if you just need to take notes you want things to “just work” so you can get down what you need. Third party stylus can have problems with pairing and I feel like they are not really as intuitive as the Apple Pencil.

There’s always the option of using pen and paper that would probably be a good private option too.

Probably your best bet is:

• iPad Air + Apple Pencil 2 (best all round)
  • iPad 10th gen + Apple Pencil USB-C (budget option)

Apple also has student discounts so you can get a price reduction if you decide to go with an iPad.