Looking for my first paid VPN. Trying to figure out how Proton compares to

Hi,

I’ve read that you suggest Proton, but I hated their free version.
Whereas I love Windscribe free.
Unfortunately I am no expert so I neither have tools or knowledge to properly test a VPN, nor much info about the behind the scenes of how reliable X Company is compared to Y Company.

These are the ones which I thought they could be interesting:
Nord
SurfShark
Proton
Windscribe

These services are important to me:

• the ability to choose whatever server I want whenever I want (I guess they all do, but for example Proton free does not, while Windscribe free does, so I ask just in case)
  • speed: proton free is IMMENSELY slower than Windscribe free, like, seriously, 10mbps vs 400.
    Yes I know I am not looking for a paid one and things are different there, but again, better to be clear :slight_smile:
  • it is important that the VPN offers several servers in Europe besides some in the major Countries of other continents.
  • I am pretty sure that there is no info about me online because I never used my real data anywhere in the last 20 years.
    But there were a few cases where I had to, so I now wonder how far it went and I was curious about the personal data reports and removal feature of SurfShark, and Nord lesser offer or data breach info.
  • I didn’t see any VPN mentioning the Location, Language, and Timezone spoofing offered by Windscribe, and I find them kind of essential from a fingerprint perspective at least for my very poor understanding of what fingerprinting is.

What is your perspective on this?
Would you still suggest Proton and why?
Or what else?

Thanks

2 Likes

Is there a reason Mullvad isn’t in your list?

2 Likes