I want to contribute to open-source software, is there any programming language in particular that is better than the rest?

I barely have any knowledge about programming in general and I want to know where to start from so that I can contribute my own works. Thanks.

Disclaimer: I’m not a developer.

This seems like a very hard question to answer, to be honest. It really depends on what you’d like to contribute to and learn.

If you’d like to look into Android app development, Kotlin seems the way to go nowadays. In general, Rust is highly regarded, especially in terms of its security, as it is a memory safe language, unlike C.

This is partly why, for example, Tor is being essentially re-written in Rust with their Arti project.

In conclusion, though, in terms of a concrete answer, the best most people will be able to give you is “depends”.

2 Likes

I should also mention that, while clearly essential, programming isn’t the only method of contributing to open source software.

This blog post inspired me to start doing what I can to help the projects I’m passionate about. I’m not quite there yet with my technical qualifications (still working on it)—and development just isn’t really my thing—but I do have experience in research and academic writing, so that’s where I’ve started!

Just contributing ideas is valuable, too. :smile:

3 Likes

The other two replies here are on point. As @matchboxbananasynergy said, it “depends”. And as @anon34719932 said, you don’t necessarily have to contribute as a developer if you don’t feel the vibe.

I’ll offer another perspective, in case it helps. Programming is mostly a mindset. Once one gets into the mindset, then the choice of the programming language itself is, while important, in a certain sense irrelevant.