Anytype E2EE Notebook

I received an email for beta invite of Anytype. It’s open to everyone. I had a look at their mobile app which is promising for beta release. It’s open source, E2EE, and funded by a Swiss organisation.

What are your initial thoughts?

https://anytype.io/

This app looks more like a collaboration tool (such as Notion) and less like a notes app. They state this on their Github:

Our long-term vision is for Anytype to enable large-scale collaboration to create a global repository of interconnected knowledge.

Besides what you said it also stores your data locally — but as of now, local data is not encrypted, only data synced to a backup node is E2EE.

They do not store data on a centralized server, but rather on a private IPFS network. I am not an expert on this and I cannot find more details, so feel free to pitch in. Furthermore, here is an excerpt from their FAQ page:

TLDR: your account is protected by a seed phrase only you know; all of your data is sharded, E2E encrypted, stored on-device, and synced in your local network or via anytype nodes that can’t read your content.

And indeed, they appear to be based in Switzerland and also have an EU designated representative, which would suggest they are GDPR compliant (as per their Privacy Policy).

From what I can gather, their product looks promising and might be a viable replacement for Notion in the future, but it still appears to be in beta.

:pencil2: Edit: Changed wording for clarity.

5 Likes

Indeed, it’s more like a knowledge management app. There were two apps which I have waiting to replace obsidian and notion: appflowy and Anytype. Tried the first one, but not satisfied. For Anytype, they are generously giving 1 gb for cloud.

Tbh, as long as E2EE is properly implemented, it’s not important which cloud provider they use.

We will see after beta.

2 Likes