Work phone: iOS vs Pixel (cant go with GrapheneOS unfortunately)

Hi, after years of using BYO device with GrapheneOS, this year my company obliges us to install Intune, which - after reading several GOS forum posts - cant work as intended.

As much as I hate lugging around a 2nd phone, I do have the need to have a work mobile phone.

So I am taking out a new subscription, but the question here is whether I should get an iOS or stock android via Pixel.

My threat model is quite simple: data minimization from big tech.

I use different macbooks for work and personal but for personal, I dont use much of their apps. Mostly I install apps recommended by PG. I’ve never used an iPhone before but I used an iPad a couple years back. So usage wise, I am quite flexible.

The only thing I’m not sure about, for security and privacy, which one would you go for?

I read several posts here and I get that Apple isnt as private as advertised and security wise, they’re both quite similar. My gut says to go with Apple due to my probably-incorrect perception of Apple’s business model compared to Google.

TLDR: work obliges to install intune after years of using BYOD with GrapheneOS. I need to take a 2nd phone so between iOS and stock Pixel android, which one should i go with?

1 Like

Just pick the one that you like more. Both options aren’t great.

I would personally go with a Pixel because I can’t justify using Apple’s hardware or software for mainly ethical and moral reasons.

Regarding Apple’s privacy:

8 Likes

I tend to agree with @Lukas on this one. Whichever type of phone your most comfortable with. Best thing you can do, for your threat model, is just turn off your work phone when you are not using it.

4 Likes