What's the best way to maximize privacy while streaming on an LG smart TV?

I was gifted an LG B3 tv that runs webOS 23; it seems to be a privacy nightmare as far as “smart TVs” go. What is the best way to maximize privacy with it while still being able to access streaming services? It’s still in the box and has not been connected to the internet.

My prior TV was a Samsung from the late 2000s with no internet capabilities that I only ever used with a:

• Fedora laptop plugged in via HDMI to watch videos from the browser or laptop hard drive
  • My partner’s PS4 with Netflix, Apple TV, etc.

This is my first time having to use anything but a “dumb” TV and most information online seems to assume a high level of prior knowledge with smart tv settings, common streaming devices, etc. I do not know whether installing a specific new OS, getting some kind of streaming device, or something else is the current best option these days. The ability to block ads would be strongly preferred, as is the ability to use a remote or controller rather than having to go to a laptop to change things. If this is too vague, I will answer any questions you have to narrow things down.

Short answer is there are no great options.

• Apple TV gives you a premiere experience with some semblance of privacy protections.
  • Using a (x86) desktop or laptop naturally affords you much more freedom in software choice, but you’ll still need to enable Wildvine to access most streaming services. The main downside with using a linux computer is remotes aren’t really an option. I’d recommend a wireless mouse and keyboard. Also many streaming services will be limited to 720p due to browsers’ lack of HEVC support.