Passkeys and Security Keys

To my current understanding, passkeys are just a cloud version of physical security keys because passkeys are discoverable and syncable. Does this mean passkeys are subjected to the same concern of a cloud storage breach? For accounts that offer both passkey and security key sign in options, should I choose security key for maximum security and privacy? I’ve heard one approach is to use passkeys as the first-factor authentication and security keys for second factor. But if passkeys are already protected with 2FA using biometrics, what of use is the security key?

P.S. I’m a noob that just learned about passkeys and security keys. I’m still reading and researching these technologies but in the mean time, if someone is kind enough to answer my questions, I’d be most appreciative.

Passkeys rely on FIDO2 (Web Authentication/WebAuthn). Most security keys should support both FIDO (Universal 2nd Factor) and FIDO2 (e.g. YubiKeys). FIDO2 enables passwordless login, but not all sites support that. Google supports passkeys (and passwordless login) and you can create them either on iCloud Keychain, Bitwarden, 1Password, YubiKeys or Titan Security Keys. So it looks like passkeys are not simply a cloud version, but can also be stored on hardware security keys making them device-bound credentials, which would be a lot more secure than syncing them to the cloud.

Also, Google puts passkeys and security keys together, reaffirming that.

Thank you! I didn’t really get what U2F is and its relation to FIDO2. It seems like passkeys are merely authentication method using FIDO2 . But physical security keys are much more than that. Talking specifically about Yubikeys, they are a tamper-resistant hardware device not only capable of storing passkeys, but also support other protocols, including Yubico OTP, OATH-TOTP, OATH-HOTP, Smart card (PIV) and OpenPGP.

After further research, below is my conclusion on the approach of using passkeys.