Necessity of Wayland? (new to Linux (Mint))

As I am new to the privacy community, if not new to learning about computers beyond the absolute basics to survive as a student - I opted to Linux Mint. Perfect middle ground between privacy and user-friendliness. This is enough of a learning curve, I’ll move to Fedora later.

Only now I notice Privacy Guides recommends against Linux Mint specifically because it does not support Wayland. From what I understand, this is to prevent one malicious application from taking over the entire system. In Wayland the malicious app would be isolated.

It seems crucial and is tempting me to switch to Fedora, but further consideration and I think it’s overkill, and would only make things more difficult for me, in a way I’m not ready for right now. My usage is near confined to Brave and LibreOffice, plus VPN and whatever was on Mint from the beginning.

Maybe I’m missing something, but Wayland does not seem necessary since I am not downloading software which is not already widely supported in the privacy community.

Honestly just stick with Mint and switch later when you are more comfortable with Linux.
Just be aware that Linux in general is not very secure against exploits. Keep the system updated and be very conscious about what you install and from what source.

5 Likes

Hello. I agree with @Valynor completely. If I were you, I would stick with Mint, at least for now. If you feel like exploring Linux space in the future, feel free to try Fedora. Both are excellent choices as far as Linux distros for everyday uses go.