Mullvad - why should I trust them?

I’ve been using the Mullvad VPN for the past 6 months or so and have recently been trying out the browser. I’ve read all the literature on the their own website, and I appreciate some of their business practices (no account needed, you can pay in cash).

I understand of course that by using a VPN, you’re placing trust in that company. However, I get the impression that people seem to trust Mullvad more than many of the other VPN offerings.

I’ve heard some references to the founders’ solid “track record”, but I have a hard time finding any information about either of them. What were they doing before Mullvad? How were they able to fund the beginnings of the business?

In NYC where I live, there are ads for Mullvad plastered all over every subway car and bus in the city. How do they justify this expense?

If anyone has answers to these questions with supporting documentation, I’d love to see it.

IVPN and ProtonVPN are also fairly well trusted, equally I’d say. The rest is marketing.

Well it’s not as many as the Nords and Kapes can afford they do TV adverts in 65 countries. VPNs are a lucrative business. Having said that we believe that marketing is important when it accurately portrays what a VPN can and cannot do, and that is one component of our criteria.

1 Like

Speaking of Mullvad’s marketing, when you disconnect from their Linux app it says “disconnected and unsecure”. to me that sounds misleading and against the criteria below:

Use responsible language: i.e., it is okay to say that a VPN is “disconnected” or “not connected”, however claiming that someone is “exposed”, “vulnerable” or “compromised” is needless use of alarming language that may be incorrect. For example, that person might simply be on another VPN provider’s service or using Tor.

You should trust no one.
All those VPN companies will tell you that you must have a VPN even if you don’t need one.