Kagi (Search Engine)

It looks pretty interesting, instead of generating revenue on user data or donations, it’s a subscription. They claim to be “a high quality, 100% privacy-respecting search engine with results augmented by non-commercial indexes and personalized searches.”

A brief look at the privacy policy shows that they don’t collect really anything, however I am not an expert on that.

I’d love to hear what everyone thinks of this, I’m tempted to try it out

One of the main problems seems to be that they are collecting that account information, which can be directly tied to an account. This kinda makes it pointless to use a VPN or Tor in conjunction with that. A privacy policy is very much a “trust us” situation, that could change if the company is sold, in the future.

Had they have accepted payment with something with Monero, that would allay some of those concerns. They only accept Bitcoin, what their payment processor OpenNode supports. This means users would be responsible for shifting crypto into Monero, and then back to bitcoin to pay anonymously.

The other thing also being that even if you do pay anonymously, you’re not really anonymous as it is trivial to tie all the search results to a particular account. If they did decide to collect that data, there would be enough there over time to identify who you are anyway.

The other thing I would want to test thoroughly is the results returned. A lot of these search engines “sound good” but in practice produce poor results not related to the terms.

4 Likes

Hey Daniel,

I work at Kagi, Thomas on our Discord. One of our users linked this post so I wanted to give our perspective as well :slight_smile: Hope that’s ok!