Guide to using LUKS with TPM?

Currently, the website has a section that mentions that an advantage native OS encryption has over veracrypt is that they can work with TPM. I’m still pretty new to this, but from my limited understanding among the TPM related advantages, one would be being able to boot without having to always input the passphrase (like how it works by default for Bitlocker).

LUKS however doesn’t seem to do this at first glance and from further reading it seems like it requires some extra config (that may vary depending on the distro?).

Much like how there’s an extra Bitlocker section that explains how to set it up on Windows Home, I’d be nice to have a guide on how to set up LUKS with TPM since its kinda mentioned already.

This is half a site development post and half a question because like I said, I’m just starting to use Linux and I’m kinda puzzled on how to do this.

2 Likes

Its funny to see the faces of your colleagues when they boot up your laptop and you are immeadiately greeted with a password prompt.

I mean TPM is convenient but it certainly feels like you actually lose some security when your drives are still attached to the laptop where the thieves/government agents/spies/bad people will find it first attached to.

TPM can still require a PIN or password, the main reason for using it is that it can be rate limited by the hardware or not provide access if certain measurements have changed.

It can but no distribution sets this up automatically. It can be done using the systemd-cryptenroll command. The main issue is it’s still missing some things but they are making progress in that direction. See this post from Lennart Poettering:

One of my systems I have kind of got it to work with a setup similar to this:

Enroll with PIN and check pcrs 0+7.

systemd-cryptenroll --tpm2-device=/dev/tpmrm0 \ 
                      --tpm2-pcrs=0+7 --tpm2-with-pin=true /dev/nvme0n1p6

Wipe password