F-Droid App store

Hello,

since I am new to the open source apps and have only been using the Google Play store since I have been using Android (25 years or so) I’m kind of wary of using F-Droid.
So I guess this thread is there to calm my spirits :sweat_smile:
I have found this so far that it is probably the most secure way to download those kind of apps.
Still want to put it up for discussion.

1 Like

No I’m not haha
Whenever galaxy S2 came out

Congrats on being from the future! /sarcasm

Anyways F-Droid is mainly blamed for two reasons :

1. The client (F-Droid app) using an older Android SDK version which causes the OS to apply weaker protections to the app.

2. The repository (server where the F-Droid apps are hosted) having poor security practices such as F-Droid signing all their apps with their own keys (which means if the F-Droid key gets compromised it could cause massive destruction) compared to the Play Store which requires developers to sign their apps with their own keys.

There are ways to avoid these two issues :

1. Using F-Droid Basic (a more modern client using more recent SDK versions so it supports auto-updating apps).

2. Using alternative repositories (such as the IzzyOnDroid repository) which require apps to be signed with the developer’s keys.

There are caveats though - the main F-Droid repo still has official downloads of certain popular apps (for example, the Element Matrix client) and it still contains old un-updated Android apps.

However, if you are sensible and install only apps you know you can trust, you are very likely to stay safe. I use F-Droid and personally it’s fine if you use a client that auto-updates and not install old apps from the main repository.

4 Likes