Chromium vs Gecko Browser

Stock user here, Android 14.
The topic started after Google Chrome showing too much adds and c…ap.
Been through a few Browsers now, and honestly the more I ready about the topic the more brain f.kt I am haha.
What I have tried;
Brave
MS Edge
Firefox (+ublock)
Soul Browser
Chrome
Kiwi
Vivaldi
Yandex
Mull

So thing is Mull kinda runs laggy on my Phone.
The Rest is somewhat ok, gets uninstalled because of missing AdBlock or not passing this (If it has meaning, but as a Noob i have to use some Kind of criteria)

https://chromiumchecker.com/

So here is the thing:
Left over is MS Edge and Firefox with ublock and DivestOS setting. (Brave in “()”)
So MS Edge has a huge privacy issue according to:

and Firefox is Gecko :roll_eyes:
And to be honest I somewhat want to stay a Noob haha. Cause Im tired of feeling like a hamster in rod lol
Any sugguestions?
Like I said stock Android 14. Will stay like that aswell.
Is it a issue with Gecko for every day useres of the net?
J.

I’m no Android user (except for my work phone), but I think your best choices are:

• Brave browser (if you want a Chromium-based one).
  • Firefox with uBlock Origin add-on installed (if you want a non-Chromium alternative).

Even though the add-ons availability is lacking in Android, its still good enough.

3 Likes

You technically could use any addon on android, but it requires a mozilla account and is a bit of a pain in the ass to setup

2 Likes

Just use Brave or Firefox, honestly. Those are the main recommendations on this site.

2 Likes

Ok, I’ll give Firefox a shot with ublock Origin.
Set Up the wifes Phone with Brave…

Any settings/recommendations for MS Edge?
I suppose no, but ask anyway :sweat_smile:.
I like how it feels while browsing…

Yes, just remove it. :laughing:

I’m (partially) joking. On mobile, I don’t see a single reason to use it, otherwise from bookmarks sync (and Bing chat?). So I think uninstalling is the best option.