Any rebuttal to Simplified Privacy's article "PrivacyGuides Loves Spyware"?

I have learned a lot through Privacy Guides, and it is one of my favorite go to sites for privacy recommendations, so when I see an article accusing this site of loving spyware it got my attention. No idea who the author of the article is, but although they seem to have a lot of respect for Jonah and Privacy Guides as a whole, in the article the author takes issue with Privacy Guides use of Cloudflare which he claims can break SSL and see private encryption keys resulting in the ability to see passwords, etc. I’m a noob when it comes to this stuff, so I really don’t know if the concerns about Cloudfare or anything else mentioned in the article are legit and was hoping Jonah or someone else here at Privacy Guides could offer a response: PrivacyGuides Loves Spyware – Simplified Privacy

You know that the website you linked just mass produces low-quality articles to boost their website and services? Would recommend staying away from such websites.

6 Likes
1 Like

Going to approve this post just because it mentions us. They’ve clearly run out of content, that particular site is a SEO farm for the owner’s “Linux Tech Support” company.

The “privacy advice”, is really quite poor at times as it considers no specific threat model other than “the gubbermint” is going to “get you”.

Most articles are just a tirade against any product or company that is considered BiG TeCh, without actually considering what needs those products might meet that alternatives do not. It’s also worth mentioning that products produced by small companies, might be less mature, because of less resources and funding for formal validation testing (ie audits).

appears to just be concerned with low level evasion