Use-Case for Browser Extensions vs Using Desktop Apps

I’ve seen this question asked, https://discuss.privacyguides.net/t/password-manager-safer-with-browser-extension-or-copy-drag-auto-type/11466?u=seek.veritas, and it is relevant to me as well. I’m new to the privacy and security space and am curious as to if I should be using a password manager extensions (along with other types of extensions (email aliasing, etc.) for the convenience sake. I’ve been doing this method for awhile as I value the convenience but wanted to make sure that this wasn’t a huge privacy and security risk. What other options are there? Would I either have to use the web or desktop versions and copy/paste? Seems monotonous.

1 Like

I’ve been wondering this as well, but I can’t find much discussion.

Extension should be safer, it won’t auto-fill fishing site, while you can. And keeping passwords in clipboard is not good practice either.

4 Likes

Autofilling websites with your personal data is only one thing that web browser extensions can do. If you look at the most popular extensions you’ll see that it’s unbelievable how many things extensions can do now.

In one way I think they’re safer than installing 3rd party Apps to Windows because they’re vetted by the Firefox community:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/search/?promoted=recommended&sort=users&type=extension

It’s a compromise of security vs privacy.

Extensions pros

• super simple to install
  • sandboxed to the browser
  • great usability on websites

Extensions Cons

• increases fingerprint uniqueness reducing privacy

Desktop Pros

• does not increase fingerprint
  • does not interface with the browser

Desktop Cons

• copy/paste is not as seamless
  • if closed source means unable to audit
  • threat to os instead of just browser (but browser can still hold a lot of info).