How to keep digital privacy in real life?

TLDL: how to keep privacy and find a job in IT as a rookie?

Hello everyone, I became that kind of person who learned something about privacy, moved on GNU/Linux and LOS systems from closed ones, trying not to use non free “evil” services such as facebook/google/MS/etc. And I’m pretty much happy with it. But that’s just me, and as we all know - we live in a society, and society doesn’t care about theirs, and as a consequence also yours privacy. And well, there’s nothing you can do about it.

To the point, rn I’m studying and looking for a job in IT industry and I understand that it’s almost impossible to find some poor programmer job without using a non free services. Because, when you apply to an offer and you got the reply, the first thing that will be is an interview in google meet or zoom, because it’s easy to use, handy, nice and friendly services that everyone uses, right? And for sure they have some important stuff for you to interact somewhere in google docs like or another equivalent that forces you to register account to use it. And of course it requires your phone number, for your security ofc. Aaaand you also should use real name in these “corporate” services, because why wouldn’t you do that, right?

You probably got the point already. When you say that you don’t use google services and you suggest to do the interview using Jitsi meet or SimpleX chat instead of google meet, that is kinda a bad sigh, thats a first trigger that this dude is… not like us. And if you’re not a master of your craft - it’s probably not worth it, because hiring a junior is the overall risk to the company, and if hes kinda different - thats double the risk not fitting in the team.
So, if I wanna get hired - I should pretend to be a normie and forget about privacy. Or become a badass skilled dude who can afford to dictate his own rules :smiley: