Help : local AI

Hi, I want to use an on-device (Pixel 7 and MacBook M1) AI chatbot. I think there is a lot of options. Could someone guide me to a good option please?
Best

You need to tell us what exactly you’re looking for in a local AI and why and how you want to use it

Also, if it’s local and privacy is your concern - I don’t think it matters which one you use because… well, it’s local.

But I’m no expert and could be wrong. Let’s see what others have to say

How much memory do you have, and what version of M1 (base, pro, max, etc)?

Llama 3 8B quantized is one of the most popular models among hobbyists and home users at the moment. The hardware requirements are not excessively high, and the quality is good for the moderately small size of the model.

In addition to the model you’ll want an application/wrapper to interact with it. There are lots of options. ollama + openwebui is one of the most popular choices right now, ther are also more traditional applications like jan.ai There are also options that bundle both the model and the frontend like Mozilla’s Llamafiles

1 Like

uses CPU GitHub - Mobile-Artificial-Intelligence/maid: Maid is a cross-platform Flutter app for interfacing with GGUF / llama.cpp models locally, and with Ollama and OpenAI models remotely.

uses GPU GitHub - mlc-ai/mlc-llm: Universal LLM Deployment Engine with ML Compilation

I didn’t try any of these, but heard ollama app is the best. Other members can test them and let us know their experience.

2 Likes

I think that the choice matters even for a local AI because even if the prompts don’t leave the device, there could be telemetry, personal information or usage information or network or device information that are collected.
The choice matters also because we want an app that is open source, actively developed, that don’t leave the conversations in plain text in the computer, etc.
Anyway, thank you for your answer