Basic smartphone - Spyware

Hi!
If you were to recommend a phone that could have basic apps like WhatsApp, twitter, mail… and so basic and primitive (I’m not technical some people call it I heard (preinstalled apps/spyware) ) that you wouldn’t need to worry about some advanced spyware on it what would you recommend. I have heard oneplus, murena, android go edition (like in Nokias with touch screen) … any ideas
Many thanks!

If it can run WA,Twitter it can run “advanced spyware”, too.

Get a used Pixel that still gets updates perhaps.

3 Likes

A Pixel with GrapheneOS. GOS has done extensive attack surface reduction so it’s your best bet against malware

4 Likes

Can you elaborate please? Are you perhaps referring to feature phones or “dumb phones” like the ones Nokia used to have way back then, without Android?

Yes, it does not need to be Nokia. I’m looking for any phone that would allow me somehow to use WhatsApp, Twitter… and for this phone to be somehow dumb enough to support that but not spyware. Any ideas?

Thank you for that link I appreciate it a lot! I see they also sell laptops which is also what I’m looking for many thanks. But I have another question. If I chose a phone from that website do I need to install one those operating systems you mentioned or they would come already with one of them?

My idea was to buy a Linux phone with kill switches (like pine phone) and install anbox to download twitter, WhatsApp. Is that a bad idea to get anbox on a Linux phone. My problem is not corporations collecting my data but a bad actor with spyware on my phone

The pine phone is by far not powerful enough to do something like that in a meaningful way.
Also this is a complicated thing to do even if it would work and since you said you are “not technical” you should probably stick with either stock Android (Pixels) or Graphene OS.

3 Likes